Difference between Summer and Winter Monsoon

Distinguish, differentiate, compare and explain what is the Difference between Summer and Winter Monsoon. Comparison and Differences.

Summer Monsoon

The summer monsoon is associated with heavy rainfall. It usually happens between April and September. As winter ends, warm, moist air from the southwest Indian Ocean blows toward countries like India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Myanmar. The summer monsoon brings a humid climate and torrential rainfall to these areas.

India and Southeast Asia depend on the summer monsoon. Agriculture, for example, relies on the yearly rain. Many areas in these countries do not have large irrigation systems surrounding lakes, rivers, or snowmelt areas. Aquifers, or supplies of underground water, are shallow. The summer monsoon fills wells and aquifers for the rest of the year. Rice and tea are some crops that rely on the summer monsoon. Dairy farms, which help make India the largest milk producer in the world, also depend on the monsoon rains to keep cows healthy and well-fed.

Winter Monsoon

The Indian Oceans winter monsoon, which lasts from October to April, is less well-known than its rainy summer equivalent. The dry winter monsoon blows from the northeast. These winds start in the air above Mongolia and northwestern China.

Winter monsoons are less powerful than summer monsoons in Southeast Asia, in part because the Himalaya Mountains prevent much of the wind and moisture 3 of 7 of the monsoons from reaching the coast. The Himalayas also prevent much of the cool air from reaching places like southern India and Sri Lanka, keeping them warm all year. Winter monsoons are sometimes associated with droughts.

Difference between Summer and Winter Monsoon

1. Summer Monsoon blow during the months of June to September. They blow during the months of December to February.

2. Summer Monsoon blow from the high-pressure area on the sea to the low-pressure area on the land. Winter Monsoon blow from the high-pressure area on land to the low-pressure area on the sea.

3. Summer Monsoon bring rain to the greater part of India. Winter Monsoon bring a little rain only to the Tamil Nadu coast.

4. Summer Monsoon blow into India in two branches, i.e., the Arabian Sea and the Bay of Bengal branches. Winter Monsoon have only one branch.

About Author: Jeniffer Fleming